Mettā (Loving Kindness)

Have you seen Our America on the Own Network? Or anything Lisa Ling does? She is truly amazing. In fact, she inspired me to start this blog! She spoke at Clarke University (my alma mater), which is a private Catholic school. I graduated with a journalism degree and a justice and peace studies minor. I wanted (and still want to!) save the world by writing and sharing stories of others.

Check out her work here!

Lisa spoke to me when she mentioned how weird it felt speaking at a Catholic school when she struggled with faith because of all of the horrible things she’s seen. She read a poem about someone who was asking God why so many horrible things happen and why God hasn’t done anything. Then God replies, “I did, I made you.” (Or something like that.) And this is when I started crying. (If you haven’t noticed when I see/hear awesome things, I cry.) I instantly related with her. Because no matter what religion we are — you, me, and everyone, all have the power to help others.

I heard Lisa speak about a year ago, but last night I had a similar conversation with someone so close to me. He told me about how every night he meditates. He focuses on compassion, and meditates about how his day went and how he would change it or how he made people feel. He also meditates on how he can help those in need and what he can do the help others. This is also know as metta meditation (no, I am not talking about Metta World Peace, the Lakers player! ). It is also called the loving kindness meditation. How cool would it be if we all did this? If we all looked inside and asked, what can I do?

Here is a metta meditation. If you want, try it in the morning and see how you feel 🙂

May I be a medicine for the sick and weary,
Nursing their afflictions until they are cured;
May I become food and drink,
During time of famine,
May I protect the helpless and the poor,
May I be a lamp,
For those who need light,
May I be a bed for those who need rest,
and guide all seekers to the Other Shore.
May all find happiness through my actions,
and let no one suffer because of me.
Whether they love or hate me,
Whether they hurt or wrong me,
May they all realize true entrusting,
Through Other Power,
and realize Supreme Love.

Leave a Reply

